Click Here to Contact Us

Or call 1-800-955-7277 to speak to a representative

Request Info for
our Exam Prep Classes
Follow Us at: American Contractors on Twitter American Contractors on Facebook Join American Contractors on Linked-In
1-800-955-7277
Florida HVAC Class B
Now you can signup online! Click here to signup 
Requirements:
  • Please note that the Florida Business and Finance exam as well as the Florida HVAC Class B exam is required to be passed to obtain your contractor’s license. The course we offer for the HVAC Class B contractor includes Business and Finance so you DO NOT have to register for the courses separately.
  • Minimum amounts required for General Liability insurance for HVAC Class B contractors are $100,000 for bodily injury and $25,000 for property damage. All contractors are required to carry Worker’s Compensation Insurance.
  • All contractors must be at least 18 years of age and be of good moral character.
  • Beginning November 1, 2007, all applicants for initial licensure or changed of status will be required to have a criminal background check performed by the Florida Department of Law Enforcement and Federal Bureau of Investigation. YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR ENSURING THAT YOUR FINGERPRINTS HAVE BEEN SCANNED BY THE DEPARTMENT’S VENDOR, PROMISSOR/PEARSON VUE, PRIOR TO SUBMITTING YOUR APPLICATION.
  • If an applicant has a FICO credit score lower than 660, he/she will be requested to provide a licensing bond or letter of credit to obtain licensure. Please review the Department’s Financial Responsibility and Stability website for additional information on the Board’s requirements. The amount of the licensing bond or letter of credit is based on the type of license requested: $20,000 for Division I contractors and $10,000 for Division II contractors.  Please call us for more detailed information or if you have personal credit concerns.

  • Experience Required:
  • 4 years of experience in the trade with at least 1 year having been supervisory work OR
     
  • A 4 year construction-related degree from an accredited college and 1 year proven experience applicable to the category for which you are applying OR
     
  • 1 year as a foreman and not less than 3 years of credits from any accredited college level courses OR
     
  • 1 year as a workman, 1 year proven experience as a foreman, and 2 years of credits from any accredited college level courses OR
     
  • 2 years of experience as a workman, 1 year of experience as a foreman, and 1 year of credits from any accredited college level courses OR
     
  • Have an active Certified Florida contactor’s license (This option only applies to Certified Building, Residential, Air Conditioning, and Swimming Pool contractors as provided in Section 489.111 (2)(c)4-6, Florida Statutes).
    •  

    • *You can substitute up to 3 years of college credit for experience*

       

Scope of Work:

The Class B contractor is one whose services are limited to 25 tons of cooling and 500,000 BTU of heating in any 1 system in the execution of contracts requiring the experience, knowledge, and skill to install, maintain, repair, fabricate, alter, extend, or design central air conditioning, refrigeration, heating and ventilation systems, including ductwork in connection with a complete system.

This license does not allow any work such as liquefied petroleum or natural gas fuel lines within buildings, potable water lines or connections, sanitary sewer lines, swimming pool piping and filters, or electrical power wiring.

Applications:
  • To apply, contact State of Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation 1-850-487-1395.

    If applying for initial licensure from May 1st of an Even numbered year through August 31st of an Odd numbered year the fee is $249.

    If applying for initial licensure from September 1st of an Odd numbered year through April 30th of an Even numbered year the fee is $149.

  • You must pay a fee of $56.25 to Pearson VUE for the processing of your electronic fingerprints./
  • Candidates will receive an unofficial grade report on the day they pass the exam. However, test scores and license approval do not become official until ratified by the Contractors Licensing Board at their next meeting. Licenses are typically received within 14 days of the exam.

  • Reciprocity:

    Florida does not have a reciprocal agreement with any other states for the HVAC B license

    Continuing 
    Education:

    As of this time Florida requires 14 hours of board approved continuing education each biennium prior to the renewal period for both certified and registered contractors. At least 1 hour must deal with workplace safety, 1 hour must be on the subject of worker’s compensation, 1 hour must cover the subject of business practices, 1hour must cover the subject of laws and rules, 1 hour must cover wind mitigation methodologies, and 1 hour must cover the Florida Building Code advanced modules.

    Exam:

      Effective November 15, 2008 examination fees are being restructured . When applying to schedule for the examination with Professional Testing Inc. (PTI) , the following fee structure will apply:

      All parts of the examination:
      Pay $135.00 examination development fee payable to PTI, $80.00 examination administration fee payable to DBPR, but mailed to PTI. An $80.00 examination administration fee payable to Pearson Vue (formerly Promissor), the CBT (Computer Based Testing) contracted vendor, is due at the time of scheduling.

    • A score of at least 70% is required to pass the exams.
    • The exam is 2 days, open book, multiple-choice, and timed.
    • There are 2 parts to the exam, the business finance part and the trade knowledge part. The time limit for each exam portion is 4 hours and 45 minutes.
    • Exams are held 6 times per year in February, April, June, August, October, and December. Test locations are in Orlando, Tallahassee, and Miami. The Florida HVAC Class B exam consists of 80 equally weighted questions on the morning of the 2nd day.
    • The Florida Business and Finance exam has a morning session of 60 equally weighted questions and an afternoon session of 60 equally weighted questions.
    • Applicants must submit an application and exam fee to become registered to take the exam. The testing company must receive completed applications and appropriate fees no later than 30 days prior to the next scheduled exam date.
    • You must complete all portions of the examination within 4 years of the first attempt. After four years, all previous test scores become invalid and you will be required to take all parts of the examination again.

       

      Topics covered on the trade knowledge exam portion are pre-installation, sheet metal ducts, installation of refrigeration and HVAC systems, installation of refrigeration and HVAC equipment and components, maintenance analysis of refrigeration and HVAC systems, maintenance service of refrigeration and HVAC systems, and safety and equipment.

      / To schedule your exam you must contact Professional Testing, Inc (PTI) at 1-407-264-0562.
    References:

    The references listed in the Right-Hand column are permitted to be taken into the examination. These references may be tabbed (with permanent index tabs) and highlighted. They are available for purchase from our online contractor’s bookstore or by calling our office at 1-800-992-1910.

    *There is an additional downloadable document for the Business and Finance portion of the exam*

    Florida Statutes Chapter 455, 2007.

    *There is an additional item that is necessary during the exam* All Candidates: Bring an Architect's Scale (including 1/4" and 1/8" ) for the Trade Knowledge Exam.

    Training:

    American Contractors offers a 5 day seminar to prepare for the Florida HVAC Class B contractor license exam and includes preparation for the Business and Finance exam. Please contact us for additional information, 1-800-992-1910.

      Seminar Price: $1,095.00  
    Now you can signup online! Click here to signup 


    Request information on this class

    Schedule Info:
    Upcoming classes
    LocationSeminar Date
    Pensacola, FL7/22/2017 to 7/26/2017
    Orlando, FL7/31/2017 to 8/4/2017
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL8/7/2017 to 8/11/2017
    Pensacola, FL9/23/2017 to 9/27/2017
    Orlando, FL10/2/2017 to 10/6/2017
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL10/9/2017 to 10/13/2017
    Pensacola, FL11/13/2017 to 11/17/2017
    Orlando, FL11/27/2017 to 12/1/2017
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL12/4/2017 to 12/8/2017

    View complete schedule

    Reference Materials
    The following books are recommended for this exam:
    BookNameOnline Price
    $93.00
    $42.00
    $225.00
    $48.00
    $146.00
    $150.00
    $275.00
    $240.00
    $51.00
    $46.50
    $59.50
    $42.75
    $39.00
    $49.00
    $39.00
    $57.00
    $15.00
    $36.00

    Take me to the Bookstore

    Who else do I need to contact?

    Florida Contractor Licensing | Arizona Contractor Licensing | Tennessee Contractor Licensing | Virginia Contractor Licensing | Georgia Contractor Licensing
    Home | Paperwork | Continuing Education | Online Classes | Blog | Bookstore | About Us | Contact Us | Links
    Copyright © 2006-2014 American Contractors Exam Services. All rights reserved.