Individuals applying for a Class C license-
Effective March 1, 2016, all Contractor Specialty examinations will require pre-approval from DPOR prior to taking the examination. For more information please contact the Board for Contractors Licensing Section directly at (804) 367-8511.
An Owner/Officer/Partner of the Company must be the person to take the required 8-hour Business Course required by the Board.
Effective December 1, 2012, contractors will be required to take technical exams for the specialties they put on their license. This applies to Class A, B and C licenses. Contact the Virginia Board for Contractors for more information.
Effective August 21, 2006, the Designated Employee or a member of Responsible Management of all contractors applying for initial licensure (for an entity that is not currently licensed) must successfully complete an eight hour business class approved by the Board for Contractors. This applies to Class-A, Class-B and Class-C Contractors.
You must provide documentation that the class has been successfully completed by including a copy of the certificate of completion issued by the class, which identifies the course, course provider, date of completion and the name of the individual who took the class.
Class C contractors must document 2 years of experience.
Class C contractors must have single contracts from $1,000 or more but less than $10,000 or contracts totaling less than $150,000 over a one-year period.
Application Fees are non-refundable. The Class C License fee is $ 235.00.
There are no bonding or insurance requirements for licensing in the state of Virginia, at this time.