Alabama Refrigeration | EXAMPREP.ORG

Alabama Refrigeration


  • Pre-approval from the state is required to sit for the examination.


    • An applicant for the refrigeration license license shall be eligible to sit by the examination if the applicant has held an apprentice registration, issued by this Board for two or more calendar years; or has completed 3,000 hours of coursework or experience,  as defined by the Board; or is a graduate of an approved refrigeration curriculum.




      • All applicants are required to obtain a $15,000 performance bond.


      • Passing the Business Law exam is required only if doing work over $50,000 per job.

  • In order to be approved to sit for the examination you must submit: The Examination Application; and (a) Affidavits that are signed and notarized by the employer(s) swearing that the applicant has worked in the Heating and Air Conditioning and/or Commercial Refrigeration industry for at least two years within the past five years, and all corresponding W-2 Forms from the employer(s); and/or (b) Copies of certificates showing that the applicant has attended at least 3000 hours of Heating and Air Conditioning and/ or Commercial Refrigeration educational training; or (c) Proof of graduation from an approved Heating and Air Conditioning and/or Commercial Refrigeration curriculum.


  • To assure consideration of your license application, the Board office must receive all of these items no later than 4:30 PM ten full working days before the Board’s meeting date:


    • Completed, signed and notarized application form
    • Fee payment
    • All required supporting documentation.


  • Any and all legal entities engaged in the business of refrigeration contracting and servicing, installation and repair.  


    The use of mechanical or absorption equipment to control temperature, humidity, or both, in order to satisfy the intended use of a specific space, other than for human comfort.



     

    SKU: c1537 Category: Tags: ,

    Required Books 

    The associated references listed below are permitted to be taken into the examination. These references may be tabbed (with permanent index tabs) and highlighted.

    Add All Required Books to Cart

    Additional Services

    • Pre-approval from the state is required to sit for the examination.
      • An applicant for the refrigeration license license shall be eligible to sit by the examination if the applicant has held an apprentice registration, issued by this Board for two or more calendar years; or has completed 3,000 hours of coursework or experience,  as defined by the Board; or is a graduate of an approved refrigeration curriculum.

        • All applicants are required to obtain a $15,000 performance bond.

        • Passing the Business Law exam is required only if doing work over $50,000 per job.
  • In order to be approved to sit for the examination you must submit: The Examination Application; and (a) Affidavits that are signed and notarized by the employer(s) swearing that the applicant has worked in the Heating and Air Conditioning and/or Commercial Refrigeration industry for at least two years within the past five years, and all corresponding W-2 Forms from the employer(s); and/or (b) Copies of certificates showing that the applicant has attended at least 3000 hours of Heating and Air Conditioning and/ or Commercial Refrigeration educational training; or (c) Proof of graduation from an approved Heating and Air Conditioning and/or Commercial Refrigeration curriculum.
  • To assure consideration of your license application, the Board office must receive all of these items no later than 4:30 PM ten full working days before the Board’s meeting date:

    • Completed, signed and notarized application form
    • Fee payment
    • All required supporting documentation.


  • Any and all legal entities engaged in the business of refrigeration contracting and servicing, installation and repair.  

    The use of mechanical or absorption equipment to control temperature, humidity, or both, in order to satisfy the intended use of a specific space, other than for human comfort.


     

    To apply, contact the state of Alabama at 1-334-241-0840. The licensing/exam fee is $150.

    Applications are process as they are received so waiting time should be less than 2 weeks.

    To apply for a HVAC license, contact:

    Board of Heating and Air Conditioning Contractors

    8 Commerce St.  Ste 200

    Montgomery, AL  36104

    (334)241-0840 Phone

    (334) 265-0570

    http://www.hacr.alabama.gov/

     

    For Testing Questions:

    Prov Inc.

    13614 Progress Blvd.

    Alachua, FL 32615

    (866) 720-7768

    http://www.provexam.com/

    The state of Alabama may have reciprocity with Louisiana, Mississippi, and Tennessee for Refrigeration, in addition to HAC. Please check with the board for specifications.

    All certified contractors sall be required to complete four (4) credit hours of continuing education every year.

    The Alabama Refrigeration Exam has 60 questions and a time limit of 3 hours.

    Topics on the exam include General Knowledge, Piping, Systems & Sizing, Maintenance & Troubleshooting and Plan Reading.

    To schedule your exam, you must first obtain pre-approval from the board. Then, contact Prov at 866-720-7768.



    American Contractors does not currently prepare for the Alabama HRefrigeration exam.  American Contractors does carry the approved reference materials for this exam. Please contact Customer Service for more information.