Mississippi Mechanical Contractor with Business Law | EXAMPREP.ORG

Mississippi Mechanical Contractor with Business Law

The Mississippi Mechanical license covers all aspects of heating, cooling, refrigeration and associated equipment, and piping and ductwork, as well as plumbing.


SKU: c36 Category: Tags: ,

Required Books 

Add All Required Books to Cart ($1400.05)

Additional Services


  • Pre-approval from the state is required to sit for the exam.
  • The State is the only entity authorized to tell you which test(s) you should take or are qualified to take.
  • Any questions regarding which test(s) to take should be directed to the Board.
  • In addition to passing the trade exam, applicants are required to pass the Business and Law Management exam.
  • All State level licenses in Mississippi are for projects where the financial level is equal to or greater than $50,000 for public projects and $100,000 for private projects.
  • There are no minimum experience requirements that have to be met to get the Building license, however the Board does expect applicants to have experience in the area(s) in which they wish to be licensed and be able to document the experience on their application.
  • Applicants must submit a financial statement that has been reviewed by a CPA that is less than 12 months old showing net worth.
  • Specialty classifications must have a net worth of at least $20,000.
  • Applicants must submit proof of workers compensation insurance and also have liability insurance coverage of a minimum of $300,000 per occurrence and $600,000 aggregate for general liability.

The Mississippi Mechanical license covers all aspects of heating, cooling, refrigeration and associated equipment, and piping and ductwork, as well as plumbing.

To apply, contact the state of Mississippi at 601-354-6161.

The license fee is $200 for the 1st license obtained and $50 each for any additional classifications obtained.

Applications will be reviewed for approval for testing as soon as they are received. After passing the exams the applicant must submit a completed application to the Board for review.

Completed applications must be submitted at least 30 days before the next scheduled meeting to be reviewed at that meeting. The Board meets 4 times each year in January, April, July, and October.

Successful candidates will receive their Certificate of Responsibility or trade license approximately 1 week after approval by the Board.

Mississippi has a limited reciprocity agreement with Alabama, Arkansas, Louisiana, Tennessee, and South Carolina. Applicants must have held a license in these states for at least 3 consecutive years.

As of this time Mississippi doesn’t require continuing education for this license.

  • The fee for the exam is $120.
  • The Mississippi Mechanical exam has 100 questions and a time limit of 4 hours.
  • A score of 70% is required.

    Topics covered on the exam are boilers and hydronics, gas systems, cleanouts, plumbing fixtures and equipment, water heaters, piping, valves, controls, sheet metal and ducts, water supply, drain, waste and vent, backflow, traps and interceptors, develop length, isometric analysis, safety, joints and connections, general plumbing regulations, fire sprinklers, refrigerants and refrigeration, heating and cooling principles, load calculations, testing, adjusting and balancing, and HVAC equipment.

  • To schedule your exam, you must first obtain pre-approval from the board. Then, contact PSI at 1-800-733-9267.

The references listed in the Right-Hand column are permitted to be taken into the examination. These references may be tabbed (with permanent index tabs) and highlighted. They are available for purchase from our online contractors bookstore or by calling our office at 1-800-992-1910.

American Contractors offers a seminar to prepare you for the Mississippi Mechanical contractor license exam. Additionally, we also offer a 2 hour seminar to prepare you for the required Business and Law Management exam. Please contact us for additional information, 1-800-992-1910.