North Carolina Electrical Restricted-Fire Alarm -Low Voltage (SP-FA/LV) | EXAMPREP.ORG

North Carolina Electrical Restricted-Fire Alarm -Low Voltage (SP-FA/LV)


  • Pre-approval from the state is required to sit for the examination.

  • Please note a separate North Carolina Business and Law exam is not needed, that information is incorporated into the Electrical Specialty Restricted Low Voltage exam.

  • Applicants must be at least 18 years of age and must demonstrate to the Board’s satisfaction their good character and adequate technical and practical knowledge concerning the safe and proper installation of electrical work and equipment.

  • The applicant must submit with the application written statements from at least 2 responsible persons attesting to the applicant’s good character.

  • Applicants must have at least 3 years of experience, of which at least 2 year must be primary experience. The balance may be primary, secondary, or both. Applicants in this classification may also receive creditable experience for service for experience gained in the low voltage field. Applicant will need to check with the Board about the creditable experience.


  • There are no minimum financial requirements for this license at this time.

  • There is no bond or insurance requirement for this license at this time.


    The Electrical Specialty Restricted Low Voltage (SP-LV) classification covers installing, maintaining, or repairing only low voltage wiring and directly related wiring. Wiring is considered directly related if it originates at the load-side terminals of a disconnecting means or junction box that has been installed complete with line-side connections by others for the specific purpose of supplying the low voltage wiring system involved and is permanently and legibly marked to identify the low voltage wiring system supplied and is not installed in a location considered as hazardous under the National Electrical Code.

    SKU: c844 Category: Tag:

    Required Books 

    Some of the references listed below are permitted to be taken into the examination. These references may be tabbed (with permanent index tabs) and highlighted. Please contact us for a detailed listing. They are available for purchase from our online contractor’s bookstore or by calling our office at 1-800-992-1910.

    *There are additional downloadable documents for the North Carolina Electrical Specialty Restricted Low Voltage exam*

    General Statutes, Chapter 87.

    Title 21, NC Administrative Code, Chapter 18B.

    Add All Required Books to Cart ($367.50)

    Additional Services

    • Pre-approval from the state is required to sit for the examination.
    • Please note a separate North Carolina Business and Law exam is not needed, that information is incorporated into the Electrical Specialty Restricted Low Voltage exam.
    • Applicants must be at least 18 years of age and must demonstrate to the Board’s satisfaction their good character and adequate technical and practical knowledge concerning the safe and proper installation of electrical work and equipment.
    • The applicant must submit with the application written statements from at least 2 responsible persons attesting to the applicant’s good character.
    • Applicants must have at least 3 years of experience, of which at least 2 year must be primary experience. The balance may be primary, secondary, or both. Applicants in this classification may also receive creditable experience for service for experience gained in the low voltage field. Applicant will need to check with the Board about the creditable experience.

    • There are no minimum financial requirements for this license at this time.
    • There is no bond or insurance requirement for this license at this time.

    The Electrical Specialty Restricted Low Voltage (SP-LV) classification covers installing, maintaining, or repairing only low voltage wiring and directly related wiring. Wiring is considered directly related if it originates at the load-side terminals of a disconnecting means or junction box that has been installed complete with line-side connections by others for the specific purpose of supplying the low voltage wiring system involved and is permanently and legibly marked to identify the low voltage wiring system supplied and is not installed in a location considered as hazardous under the National Electrical Code.

    To apply, contact State of North Carolina Electrical Licensing Board 1-919-733-9042.

    The licensing fee is $75 and Approval for testing normally takes 5-10 business days once the board receives the application.

    The licensing period is 1 year from the date of issuance and renewal is subject to continuing education.

    North Carolina does not have reciprocity for this license.

    North Carolina requires 4 hours of continuing education prior to the expiration of your license each year to renew your license for this classification. As of July 1, 2008, all persons must demonstrate that a minimum of ½ the continuing education hours for each annual license period were in-person classroom or seminar attendance.

    • The fee for the exam is $90 and a score of at least 75% is required to pass the exams.
    • There are 50 questions on the exam with a 3 hour time limit. Only the National Electrical Code book is allowed into the exam. That book will be furnished to you at the testing center.
    • Topics covered on the exam are bonding and grounding, over-current protection, boxes and fittings, wiring methods and terminations, motors and control wiring, load calculations, general knowledge, laws, rules, and basic business practices and practical applications.

    • Once you are approved you will receive an eligibility letter to schedule your testing. The eligibility letter is valid for 3 months and for a single administration of the qualifying exam.
    • To schedule your exam you must contact Pearson Vue/Promissor at 1-800-204-6231.
    • Candidates may only take the exam 2 times within 1 year. There is a waiting period between exams if a person fails.

      The candidate will not be eligible to take another exam in the same classification for 3 months if their score was 74%-65%, or for 6 months if their score was 64 and below.

      If the candidate fails the exam in the same classification 3 times they must satisfactorily complete a minimum of 16 hours of classroom education on the electrical code provided by a board approved continuing education provider before that person may retake the exam.

      A candidate may review their exam 1 time during the 1 year period that they are held in the Board’s office. The fee for reviewing the exam is $25.

    American Contractors does not offer a seminar to prepare for the North Carolina Electrical Specialty Restricted Low Voltage contractor license exam. Please contact us for additional information, 1-800-992-1910.