Tennessee Limited License Electrician (LLE) | EXAMPREP.ORG

Tennessee Limited License Electrician (LLE)

This license covers electrical work under $25,000 per job. The LLE is not accepted in counties having a codes office, which performs their own inspections (such as Davidson, Hamilton, Knox, Shelby, etc), licensing, and testing. Please contact your local codes office for their requirements.

$590.00

Clear
SKU: c71 Category: Tag:

Required Books 

The references listed below are permitted to be taken into the examination. These references may be tabbed (with permanent index tabs) and highlighted. They are available for purchase from our online contractor’s bookstore or by calling our office at 1-800-992-1910.

NOTICE: As of 10/2/2018, either the 2011 or the 2017 edition of the National Electrical Code may be used for the exam. after 1/9/2019 only the 2017 edition can be used.  Please contact us with any questions.

 

Add All Required Books to Cart ($346.50)

Additional Services

  • The first step in the licensing process is to pass the exams. You will then submit an application to the state licensing board with documentation of your experience, financial information, and your passing test scores.
  • Limited License holders are not contractors, therefore, not required to pass the Business and Law Management exam, only the trade exam is required to obtain this license.
  • There is no minimum experience requirement.
  • There are no state mandated minimum financial requirements for this license.
  • All contractors with 1 or more employees are required to carry Worker’s Compensation insurance. Every applicant will be required to provide a certificate of insurance proving an adequate amount of liability insurance. The requirements are as follows:
    Monetary Limit Minimum Insurance
    Up to $500,000 -----$100,000
    $501,000 to $1,500,000 -----$500,000
    $1,501,000 to Unlimited -----$1,000,000

This license covers electrical work under $25,000 per job. The LLE is not accepted in counties having a codes office, which performs their own inspections (such as Davidson, Hamilton, Knox, Shelby, etc), licensing, and testing. Please contact your local codes office for their requirements.

To apply, contact the state of Tennessee at 1-615-741-8307. The license fee is $50. Applications must be submitted to the board by the 20th of the month prior to the month in which the board has their next meeting. The Board meets in January, March, May, July, September, and November.

Important Contacts

To apply for a license, contact:

Tennessee Board for
Licensing Contractors
500 James Robertson Pkwy, 1st Floor
Nashville, TN 37243-1150
615-741-8307
PSI Licensure : Certification
3210 E. Tropicana
Las Vegas, NV 89121
(800) 733-9267
(702) 932-2666 Fax

Tennessee has a limited reciprocity agreement with the following states: Alabama, Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, and South Carolina for the trade exam. Check with the state licensing board for exact details and a list of licenses covered.

As of this time Tennessee does not require continuing education for the Limited Licensed Electrician.

  • The fee for the exam is $57.
  • The Tennessee Limited License Electrician exam has 40 questions and a time limit of 2 hours.
  • A score of 72.5% is required. (29 correct)

    Topics covered on the exam are general knowledge, electrical installation requirements, services, feeders, branch circuits, over-current protection, grounding and bonding, conductors and cables, raceways and boxes, hazardous locations, special occupancies, special equipment, low voltage, alarms, signaling systems, communications, lighting, signs, and general use equipment.

  • To schedule your exam, contact PSI at 1-800-733-9267.

American Contractors offers a 1 ½ day seminar to prepare you for the Tennessee Limited License Electrician exam. Please contact us for additional information, 1-800-992-1910.